Schools Name Teachers of the Year

Schools in Lilburn, along with the rest of Gwinnett County, announce their Teachers of the Year.

Gwinnett County Public Schools announced Tuesday the school-level Teachers of the Year for 2013. Now, the 131 teachers will move on to the next round, where 25 teachers will be chosen as semi-finalists for the school district honor.

The school-level Teachers of the Year includes 13 educators from schools in Lilburn. Each of them were selected by their colleagues. They are:

  • Rachel Bell, first grade teacher at
  • Charlotte Taylor, first grade teacher at
  • Ginger Whitley, special education teacher at
  • Katie Malone, first gade teacher at
  • Noreen Freeman, fifth grade teacher at
  • Gretchen Stelten, art teacher at
  • Lindsay Kyle, speech language pathologist at
  • Megan Carney, special education teacher at
  • Eric Sas, English to Speakers of Other Languages teacher at
  • Michelle Bushell, language arts teacher (sixth grade) at
  • Deborah Johnson, math teacher (ninth grade) at
  • Lindsay Watson, language arts teacher (Grades 9-12) at
  • , social studies teacher (Grades 9-12),

"Being selected at the local level means that other individuals in the profession recognize the instructional expertise and communal value the local TOTY brings to their school,” says Nikki Mouton, Gwinnett’s executive director of staff development.

Six finalists will be chosen in October, and then in November the school district will hold it's annual Teacher of the Year banquet and announce the top educator.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »